Which countries are members of SADC?

The following countries are members of the Southern African Development Community (SADC):

  1. Angola
  2. Botswana
  3. Democratic Republic of Congo
  4. Lesotho
  5. Madagascar
  6. Malawi
  7. Mauritius
  8. Mozambique
  9. Namibia
  10. Seychelles
  11. South Africa
  12. Swaziland
  13. United Republic of Tanzania
  14. Zambia
  15. Zimbabwe


Are our programmes expensive?

Our college course fees are sensible in comparison with the private sector institutions. Bursaries are available for NC(V) and Report 191 (NATED) students through the National Student Financial Aid Scheme (NSFAS), a statutory body.


Where do I receive career guidance and student support?

A Student Support Service is an integral part of our college at our various campuses. Student Support also assists with counseling, academic development, health and social issues.


Does the College offer part-time courses?

The College does have programmes that are offered on a part-time basis including Engineering, Haircare, Business Management, Education & Training and Information Technology amongst others.  Please refer to the Prospectus for more information.


Do we offer learnerships and skills?

The college offers learnerships in partnership with various SETA’s, Department of labour as well as commerce and industry. All our learnerships are planned and coordinated by our Linkages and Programmes Unit (LPU) located at our Central Office.


What is a National Certificate (Vocational)?

From January 2007, the National Certificate (Vocational) replaced the NATED courses (N1 – N3) at public TVET Colleges. The National Certificate (Vocational) is the new curriculum that is being introduced to public TVET colleges around the country. It gives Grade 9 learners a Vocational alternative to an academic Grade 10 – 12 by offering industry focused training on the NQF levels 2 – 4. These qualifications are designed to provide both the theory and practice.


What is the duration of this qualification?

The National Certificate (Vocational) qualification is a 3-year programme with a full year dedicated to each of the NQF levels of study. A student is issued with a certificate on successful completion of each level of study.


Which subjects make up a National Certificate (Vocational)?

In order to obtain a National Certificate (Vocational), a student is required to take a total of 7 subjects. These include the 3 fundamental subjects and 4 vocational subjects.


Where can I stay while studying?

The College has 3 residences, all of which cater for both male and female students.


City Residence
Corner of Primrose and Constitution Street,
Cape Town
Tel: +27 21 464 3829
Fax: +27 21 464 3829


Crawford Residence
Corner of Kromboom and Thornton Road,
Tel: +27 21 696 5133
Fax: +27 21 696 5136


Thornton Residence
Corner of Cedar and Poplar Road,
Tel: +27 21 531 2105
Fax: +27 21 531 0361